The history of the Meramec Highlands spans over a century, beginning in 1894 as one man's dream to build an exclusive resort and spa in Kirkwood.
At the height of its glory days the Meramec Highlands provided wealthy St. Louisians with all the accoutrements expected of high society. This era lasted only a few years. When the resort opened its doors to commoners, affluent patronage declined. Following the 1904 World's Fair, the resort closed.
For nearly 80 years the Highlands remained in a state of ongoing decline until it was purchased by Agape Construction Company. The resort's buildings had long been gone, either destroyed by fire or demolished. The only remaining structure was the Frisco Train Depot.
But Agape's president, Kevin O'Brien, had a vision for this property. The Frisco Depot has been architecturally restored and is making history once again as part of a new development and the primary home in KMOV's Showcase Homes Tour.
In an attempt to further document the Frisco Depot's and Meramec Highlands' connection to the Kirkwood community, Agape Construction is searching for anyone who is willing to share information about its past. This includes relics such as vintage postcards, photos, letters from folks who have stayed at the resort or ridden the train to the Highlands, etc.